a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Genoa sheet and cleating

Started by alsantini, July 16, 2014, 05:26:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alsantini

It seems like I am the only person requesting help, but then I am new to the boat, so bear with me please.  The first time I sailed the Eclipse, I noticed that the Genoa sheets would get hung up in the block.  In my box of spare parts I had two extreme angle Harken 150 cleats.  So I replaced the stock cleat.  It really releases well but is just about impossible to cleat under load.  The sheet will not hit the jaws correctly to cleat. I have to go up to the cleat and physically push the line down to get it to cleat. I think I have 3 choices and would like opinions. 1. take the angle of the cleat out by redrilling one hole to square up the cleat.  Currently it is on about a 20 % angle (in) 2.  Raise up the cleat with a riser of an inch or so. 3.  Add a 15 degree riser to the front end of the cleat so it hits the line straighter.  Opinions?  Has anyone else had this problem or is it just me.  Thanks  Al

MacGyver

Will it stay cleated?

If so, then are you pulling down while you pull it in to allow the jaws to grab when you have it where you want it? I have noticed on those it is best to have the line passing through the jaws while you pull it through.

Mac
Former Harbor Master/Boat Tech, Certified in West System, Interlux, and Harken products.
Worked on ALL aspects of the sailboat, 17 years experience.
"I wanted freedom, open air and adventure. I found it on the sea."
-Alaine Gerbault.

alsantini