a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

ob topic rears ugly head again - please do advise

Started by LaGatta, June 21, 2014, 01:48:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LaGatta

Best I can tell, most Sun Cats sail with 4,, or 5 or 6 hp auxiliary gas outboards, but I am new to the Sun Cat and to this area: SC, Calibogue/Port Royal Sound.  Tides here are fully 8 feet, with currents around 1 - 1.5 kts.(shoals on way to open water).  I have a 10-yr-old Yamaha 4 (4 stroke) in good enough condition, but I am thinking that something with more oomph would be a good idea for both safety and psyche.  I appreciate the thoughts of any who care to share them w/ this novice  Jeff

Craig

The 4hp should be sufficient for the Suncat. That being said,we had a6hp Tohatsu on Cattitude. You should test your present motor under various current/wind conditions. Personally, I would err on the high side of hp. When you need it there is no such thing as too much power,
Craig, Horizon Cat "Kailani"  Punta Gorda, FL

capt_nemo

LaGatta,

My newer Yamaha 4 HP 4-stroke pushes my Sun Cat at hull speed at around ½ throttle or so. Therefore, there should be sufficient throttle (additional thrust) remaining to overcome 1 to 1½ knot currents and/or punch through a rough chop against heavy winds out on the sounds.

Agree with Craig's recommendation that you test your current OB in various conditions BEFORE buying a larger more expensive OB. You may be pleasantly surprised.

capt_nemo

johnbeard43

check it out and you will find the 4, 5, and 6hp Tohatsu have the exact same torque, which is what you are looking for in a displacement craft.  I used a 4hp Tohatsu on a 26ft 5000lb sloop and found it quite adequate.  Save yourself a few hundred bucks and go with the 4.

frank