a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Is the CP-16 The Right boat for me?

Started by hinmo, August 28, 2013, 06:42:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hinmo

hi - newbie here. Just sold my 25 Catalina, after owning several sailboats (up to 34 ft), and know realizing I need to simplify my life. We have decided we are pure daysailers and have no desire to overnite or cruise. Crew will be myself, and occasionally my wife and/or daughter. We are not interested in speed, but simplicity. A couple inquiries as I start my local search for a c16.

Is there that much difference between the boat years?
Does the self-bailing work when moored?
Does CDI offer a jib furler? How much?
How much to mod a sail with luff tape?
How long and how many people to rig a C16 at the ramp.
How does she handle 2 ft chop? Wet?
is 400 lbs for crew going to overload her?
Any hot spots to look at while I search for one? Compression post, chain plates, drain tubes, etc?

Thanks

EclipseGuy

The Com-pac 16 is a great boat, but if you are looking for sloop with rigging simplicity you might want to consider the Com-Pac Legacy or Com-Pac Eclipse as well. I own an Eclipse and can rig it in 15 minutes at the ramp by myself. Even if I have a friend along I ask them not to help me because it actually slows me down.

The nice thing about both of these boats is that the boom and mainsail stay rigged and ready to go, even when trailering.

Regarding your other questions, I can help with a few.

I added a CDI Furler to a Sanibel 18 I had about 4 years ago. It was $600. That included the cost of blocks and pad-eyes (complete system).

I had a sail shop add luff tape to a Sanibel 18 head sail about 4 years ago. It wasn't expensive but I don't remember the exact price. I think around $80.