a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

GPS installation project - finally finished

Started by wes, May 29, 2012, 02:29:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wes

Some photos of the just-completed installation of Bella's new Garmin 546 chartplotter. I couldn't find a bracket that would work, and didn't want to make one from wood. Since I work in the audio/video installation business, I used a dual arm articulating wall mount meant for a flat panel computer monitor (Chief K2W100B), removed the upper head that normally bolts to the back of the monitor, and modified the upper knuckle to accept a 5/16" bolt which holds the Garmin's yoke bracket. The height was established to allow the sliding hatch to close above it. The dual arm folds up inside the cabin for trailering or when the drop board is inserted. It can continue to operate inside the cabin for plotting a course during heavy weather, or to keep an eye on anchor dragging overnight. Very solid and stable - these arm mounts are designed to hold video monitors much heavier than the little Garmin GPS.

Wes

"Sophie", 1988 CP 27/2 #74
"Bella", 1988 CP 19/3 #453
Bath, North Carolina

Salty19

Very nice!  Looks very strong.

Curious if you looked at the ram mounts and compared them to what you're using.

P.S.  How did you get your ports so shiny?  Ketchup?? Polish?
"Island Time" 1998 Com-pac 19XL # 603

Shawn

Wes,

Looks good. One suggestion... tie wrap the wire to the mount arm. As it is if the boat pitched it could accidentally be grabbed as a hand hold.

Shawn

Bob23

Very nice, Wes. Holy Smokes! Dems is some shiney portlights, mon! And I see you have a floating winch hande. I have the same one but haven't tested it's floatiness yet.