News:

Howdy, Com-Pac'ers!
Hope you'll find the Forum to be both a good resource and
a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

How do you get all the water out of the bilge of a sun cat?

Started by bfelton, April 06, 2012, 06:08:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bfelton

When you lower the bow down, is your boat in the water or on a trailer?  Mine is in the water.

Thanks,

Bert Felton

cavie

Tom Ray

Quote from: capt_nemo on April 07, 2012, 07:07:05 PM
bfelton,

My apologies.

My Sun Cat is a 2010 model. As an Engineer I can certainly come up with several good reasons why they decided to isolate my Sun Cat's stainless trunk from the inside of the hull with fiberglass in some fashion. And, I'm certainly glad that they did so. Didn't realize that earlier models had the stainless trunk sticking proudly into the inside of the hull.

capt_nemo

Don, Gerry Hutchins once explained to me the evolution of the centerboard trunk designs. There have been three. The originals are like Bert's. Later, they cut off the top and then the end and basically made parts of the trunk out of fiberglass. The older boats also had the flange on the outside exposed, while newer boats have that glassed over.

The new method makes for a smoother finish outside and a dry boat inside. The bolt and gasket on Bert's boat will always be prone to leak a bit unless tightened just right. On the other hand, I will know when the pin holding my centerboard has lived its useful life because the centerboard will fall out of the boat, with any luck at a good time for that to happen. At that point, it will be time for some boat surgery.

Similarly, the flange and the bolts holding it on my boat are encased in fiberglass and well protected, but trapping stainless and salt water behind fiberglass is not the best long-term plan.