Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

NEED NEW SAILS

Started by Darko, September 21, 2011, 09:06:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Darko

Hello,
I am a new member and  have recently purchased a  87 C16. I am brand new to sailing.  I have been doing alot of work fixn her up.  I am going to be replacing the sails and saw the tan bark color on a C16 online and thought they looked nice.  I called Compac and they only offer the white.  Has anyone bought  the tan bark sails?  Will any sail maker be able to get this color, is it alot more money than white?  Who do you recomend?   Also I was considering  buying a 4hp Merc ( It seems the 2hp Honda is popular) to get more power when in the channels in opposite currents ect.  I noticed that Merc make a 6hp with identical size/ weight of the 4hp(55 pounds I think).  Would I be crazy to run a 6hp on this boat.  I've always had power boats so my logic may be way off here. 

Billy

Welcome aboard!

most sailmakers can get most colors, but it does cost more. ComPac doesn't make their sails. Where are you located? I think Greene had a cp16 with the red sails, maybe he can chime in.

A 2hp is more than enough for a 16. I wouldn't want all that weight on the back. I had a 2.5 yamaha on my 19 and it did fine here in the tides and currents in Tampa Bay.

1983 Com-Pac 19 I hull number 35 -no name-

skip1930

A 1.5 hp two stroke outboard was the engine on the back of Robert Burgess's CP-16 called Nomad when he sailed the Florida keys. Said it was good for winds and tides. He wrote the Handbook Of Trailer Sailing. I'd go with a 3 hp if I had a CP-16.

My Cp-19 has a 5 hp two stroke Mercury that pushes hull speed. [The square root of the waterline length x 1.3 = hull speed in knots.] But then again so do the sails on a good day. So the sails make 5 hp? I guess so.

The least expensive new Outboard I have found is Briggs and Straton
5 HP 4-cycle OHV Engine