Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Call me Ishmael...

Started by CaptK, August 01, 2004, 09:32:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CaptK

OK, not really... :)

My real name is Kurt, and I'm a Com-Pac sailor. ;) I've been owned by my boat "Epiphany" for about 2 1/2 years at this point. It's been great.

Sailing history: I started being a regular sailor at age 17 or so, and have been an addict ever since. My first 15 years or so "under sail" I was a catamaran sailor and windsurfer. During that time I logged a *lot* of miles because I sailed for a living, as a ride captain and instructor. I don't know how many miles exactly, but a fairly conservative estimate would be in excess of 10,000 miles. All of that has been in close proximity to the coast, but I hope someday to double it (at least!) with offshore journeys.

I had a hiatus from being a regular sailor while living far away in Indianapolis for a couple of years, but, soon upon my return to the coast, I was back at it. I can't help myself. :)

It's only been since Epiphany caught my eye and lured me into her purchase that I have done a lot of sailing on monohulls. Other monohull boats I have sailed on include Catalina 25's, Columbia 7.6, Hinckleys (a 38" and a 46' or 48"), and Sea Pearls (my brother has one).

I can't think of much I enjoy more than being offshore and under sail. It's both my refuge and my cathedral, and about the only place I have ever felt "home". I'm really looking forward to a time when that's where I spend most of my life again. :)

Kurt
My other car is a sailboat.

sailFar.net
Small boats, Long distances...

Craig Weis