Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Stinky Bilge

Started by Mundaysj, April 26, 2008, 06:58:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mundaysj

Hello,
I am a newbie to the group having recently bought a 1985 Compac 23.  It was sitting in a field for over a year with water in the bilge.  My question is this:  I replaced the hose for the bilge and manually pumped it dry.  But it still has a displeasing odor.  Is there some type of disinfectant that would be good?  Could I just pour some Lysol in the bilge and then pump it out?  (It is still on the trailer in my driveway.)
Thanks in advance for all suggestions!
Sherie

Bob23

Hi Sherie:
   My 23 also had a stinky bilge when I got her. Unfortunately, the manual bilge pump doesn't get all the water...you're gonna have to sponge it out. Yeah, I was grossed out too, but I survived it. I then mixed a weak bleach solution ( I hate the smell of Lysol and forbid it on my vessel) poured it in, rinsed, repeat. I also had to install a check valve on the bilge pump hose because it was letting a lot of the pumped water back in. Finally, I also intsalled an electric bilge pump beacuse I'm a firm believer in back-ups for everything.
   I bought my 1985 23 "Koinonia" from up in your neck of the woods- Fair Haven Marina, in Fair Haven on the Navesink in summer of 2006. Feel free to ask any questions. The owners on this site are knowledgable and helpful.
   Bob23 launching in 5/03!!!!!

Mundaysj

Thank You Bob! 
I might need a shot of Jack before sponging but I'll do it.  "Blond Ambition" does have a electric bilge pump but it is not working.  I guess I'll have to get a new one.  Or maybe it is just the fuse... I'll have to check that.  Little did I know that I would become an electician, a plumber, and a carpenter!  I can't wait to get her in the water (by the end of May) and be a Sailor! :o)
Thanks Again,
Sherie

Bob23