a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Sheets fouling on Mastender

Started by Skip_956, September 25, 2006, 03:34:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Skip_956

I have been sailing my Eclipse for 4 or 5 months now and just love it.  However one of its short comings has to do with the sheets fouling on the Mastender and lock pins.  Not only is this inconvenient but it can be dangerous under the right (or wrong) conditions.  I have done several things to try to fix this situation but they all have short comings.  This past weekend I went to Wal-Mart, bought an 8cup Rubber Maid container.  Used my metal snips to cut it out to fit over the offending area and it fits quite well.  I then used a wide velcro strap that I had purchased at Acadamey to secure it to the mast.  Went sailing in 15-25 knt winds, made many tacks and NO PROBLEMS OCCURED.  I know I will have other ideas to try but this one works great and because the container is clear is not as unsightly as you might think.  Just passing this along, if anyone has other solutions other than tying a rag around the mast let me know.

TR2020

Skip..

Sounds like a good idea for dealing with the mast snag problem.  My boat is in mothballs until after Thanksgiving when I will re-commission it for winter duty.  I will give the plastic cup approach a try. 

Tim

Skip_956

I will try to take some pics and post or email them to you.  Hopefully a better way can be found but I haven't seen it yet. 

TR2020

Skip...